Principal's Leadership Team

Students Helping Lead Our School

What is it?

Mr. Graham, KCTC Principal, has assembled a team of students to meet once each month with him and with the Assistant Principals to hear the student voice within the center.  There is a Principal's Leadership Team (PLT) for each session (1st, 2nd, and 3rd.) Each team is made up of about 10 – 12 students. The PLT will meet throughout the year.  The PLT students collaborate on projects across sessions.  Meetings are about 30 – 45 minutes, once each month and include breakfast or lunch from the Culinary Cafe. 

What are the responsibilities of the members?

If you are selected:

  • You need to be committed to the group and will be required to attend the scheduled meetings and most special events.
  • You are expected to maintain good grades, good attendance, and a good disciplinary record.
  • You are expected to speak up at the meetings to share the things you like about KCTC and ways we can improve as a center.
  • You are expected to be a representative voice for other students you know at KCTC.    
  • You are expected to be positive and, while it is good to be critical, to focus on solutions and ideas to solve problems to better KCTC.   
  • You will be invited to be an ambassador at KCTC events and at schools throughout Kent county.

2017-2018 PLT Expectations

2017-2018 PLT Application

PLT meetings will be held in the Cafe'.  First session will meet at 7:30 a.m.; Second session will meet at 9:45 a.m.; and Third session will meet at 12:30 p.m.

Members of the 2016-2017 PLT

1st Session

Anna Abernethy Homeschool
Johanna Bem Lowell High School
James Bennett Homeschool
Alexy Cordova GR University Preparatory
Alyssa Cowley Cedar Springs High School
Victoria Hanes Creative Technologies Academy
Davina Jones GR University Preparatory
Shalini Kemmeter NorthPointe Christian School
Chase Merlington Cedar Springs High School
Jelenny Tejada Wyoming High School
James Tran Godwin Heights High School
Mary Vu East Kentwood High School
Travis White Homeschool



2nd Session

Michael Barteld Rockford High School
Brooklyn Bush Homeschool
Koriel Craig-Harris Rockford High School
Amelia Flowers Rockford High School
Michael Ford Homeschool
James Hanisch Homeschool
Ashley Hartley Homeschool
Jon Scheer Homeschool
Michael VanVels Homeschool

3rd Session

Adriana Cross Northview High School
Tymbre Flint FH Eastern High School
Ally Gibson Cedar Springs High School
Alaina Gork Kelloggsville High School
Allie Kober Sparta High School
Alexander Koetje Caledonia High School
Mackenzie Niece Kent City High School
Nehal Patel Grandville High School
Mikyala Reynolds Wyoming High School
Savahanna Smith Rockford High School
Zakary Smith Rockford High School
Benjamin Townshend Homeschool
Jose Vasquez-Rivera Wyoming High School
Alyssa Yost Comstock Park High School
Andrew Coin Byron Center Charter School